It has always been important to me to get good grades.  In high school, this wasn’t too difficult, to be honest.  I have always been a good writer and test taker, and my dad passed along to me the genetic gift of being a quick reader with a good memory.  I didn’t use an assignment planner or anything because I was always good at having a mental list of what I needed to accomplish.  I coasted along at the top of my class, which is where I graduated.   With a high school GPA of above 4.0 and a year of community college under my belt, I sauntered into my first class at Cedarville University expecting about the same experience.

Lesson #1 in a competitive, private university:  THERE IS NO SUCH THING AS COASTING.

Turns out no matter how good of a student you are, you have to study in college.  Turns out no matter how good at remembering your assignments you are, you have to have a system of structure or you will get overwhelmed very quickly.  Turns out that in college, professors don’t give reminders about tests and papers and assignments, you have to stay on top of all of that yourself.  Turns out, getting good grades in college is a whole other ball game.  These are all things I learned my first semester here, when I realized despite my high-school level efforts, my grades were not up to my usual standard.

So, I decided I needed a system.  My initial attempts were feeble, at best.  For Plan A, I bought a folder for each of my classes, and hauled them around pretty much everywhere I went.  In the front flap of each folder, I put that class’s syllabus, and just checked each of them daily.  However, taking all of these folders everywhere and constantly checking 6-7 different syllabuses was stressing me out big time.  Failure #1.

Time for Plan B.  Plan B took an alternate route.  Instead of carting all my syllabuses everywhere, I spent hours meticulously typing up every. single. assignment. for every class into one massive Word document like a giant to-do list.  I hit print feeling pretty proud of my genius.   Failure #2.  Every time a professor changed a due date or suddenly decided “just bump everything back/up a week”, my poor list became a sorry mess of arrows and lines, pointing assignments to their correct do date.  Soon, the thing was barely legible.  I kept missing assignments, and my frustration grew that despite my varied attempts, my grades weren’t where they could be based on sheer lack of organization.

Plan C.  I broke down and bought a fancy paper planner.  My sister made fun of me and told me I was going to turn into one of those crazies who is controlled by their datebook and can’t go anywhere without it.  This wasn’t far from true, actually.  I was excited about my new planner and decided to put all assignments in color-coordinated by class, so I easily could determine which assignment was for which class.  I used a bunch of starkly gel pens and did just that.  Failure #3.  I struggled to fit everything in to those tiny boxes, and soon my planner was a smeared, marked out mess because of the same problems of Plan B.  I threw the planer away, mad that I had just wasted money and had gotten no where at all and had wasted several semesters making no progress whatsoever in staying organized.

BUT THEN.

About a year ago, I was studying with Alex and I leaned over to peer at his computer at the long list of coding.  He said he was trying to write a program that he could use on his computer to stay organized in his classes.  Like an computer version of the datebook planner.  He said it was going to be like a calendar/to-do list, and would allow you to keep track of all course/assignment information, every test/paper/project, let you monitor your grades, and much, much more.  He had gone through many of the same attempts that I had to stay on top of classes to no avail.  I tried to sound encouraging, but I had my doubts.  I knew Alex was smart and good with computers, but to create something like that out of nothing?  No way.

Well, Ladies & Gentlemen, allow me to inform you that I was dead wrong.  I’d like to introduce you to the incredible program that has transformed my studying, Get Organized, created and written by my amazing fiancé, Alex Laird:

Get Organized is a program that was created with the sole purpose of meeting the needs of students and to help them succeed in their studies.  I know I am engaged to the developer of this product, which may make me biased, but this program has been phenomenal for me.  I used it for the entirety of last semester, and was blown away by the difference it made.  I was actually able to effectively plan ahead, and more often than not, found myself ahead of schedule.  Everything I needed was right there.  All the class and assignment information, graphs to see how my grades were doing…it was perfect.  I didn’t miss a single assignment due to lack of organization, and was amazed at how less stressed I felt in general about my schoolwork.  And by the end of the semester, I couldn’t believe how much my GPA had been raised – my grades were the best they have ever been in college, even though I had the busiest semester I have ever had!  This program really has worked wonders for my grades, my time management, and my level of organization.

But please, don’t take my word for it.  Not only has Get Organized become a tool that is currently being used and loved by all of our friends and family, it has gotten more attention than we ever imagined.  After Alex published it onto his website for download, we discovered that several major, reputable download sites had taken it on as one of the programs they were publicizing for download.  Within weeks of it being posted on one major site, download.com, Get Organized was rated the #1 student tool on their market, beating out major student organization programs that have been on the market for a very long time.

In addition, the high-ups at Cedarville University have become very excited about it as well.  They have offered to endorse it and offer it as a tool of their Academic Enrichment Program.  Not only do they want to make it available to the student body, they want to pay Alex to teach others how to use it.  In fact, they just added him to the payroll as the official Get Organized tutor.

And the best part of all?  Get Organized is 100% free.  You will not find a student organizational program of this caliber that costs absolutely nothing.  Alex has said from the beginning that he wants this tool to be free to help students just like him, and that no student should have to pay to optimize their organization and success in school.  Alex has spent more hours than I could possibly convey to you writing this program, and wants absolutely nothing in return for it, despite Cedarville practically throwing money at him.   They say he should be rewarded for his talents.  I agree.  But his policy for this program is and always will be zero expense to the student.  He is pretty stinking awesome.

So.  As it is the beginning of a new semester, I wanted to offer all of you college students a chance to use this fantastic program.  Don’t do what I did and waste semester after semester of grades that are less than your potential just because you, like so many students, struggle to find an efficient way of juggling college life.  Quit using messy planners or stacks of syllabuses.  Get organized.  You won’t be sorry.

To download Get Organized or find out more, click here.



